The accidental Cake Pops :O

Image1082823_10151816032952359_55044169_n

So last week I was baking a 50th Birthday cake for a friend of my moms, part of the cake went a tad awry, while the new part of the cake was baking in the oven I made cake pops as I  didn’t want to waste such a huge amount of cake.

Image

The batter is the same as the batter used for the cupcakes in a previous post.

First I crumbled the cake and made sure there were no lumps.

Secondly I whipped up some frosting using 60g unsalted butter, 50g of icing sugar 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 2 tablespoons of Aero hot chocolate powder.

Then I rolled the crumbed cake and frosting into balls and set them on a tray.

Melted chocolate and dipped the sticks into chocolate before inserting them halfway into the cake pops.

Froze them for approx. 30 minutes and then melted more chocolate to dunk all the cake pops in!

Decorated then with salt/marshmallows/coloured sugar and sprinkles.

Image

One thought on “The accidental Cake Pops :O

  1. Hi, my name is Sinead and I am journalist for thejournal.ie, I’ve loved reading your posts about your food it looks absolutely scrumptious! I can’t wait to see what you bake next, your ideas seem to be extremely innovative and creative. I’m going to keep an eye on your blog and if I like what I see then I’ll talk to my editor Susan Daly about meeting up with you and maybe writing a piece on your delicious baking and your bakery.

Leave a Reply

