This one time I made Martha Stewart’s Hi-Hat Cupcakes

Hi HAT

 

So This one time I made Martha Stewart’s Hi-Hat Cupcakes!

 

I used my mom’s chocolate chip muffin recipe as the base, the topping was kinda tricky but we’ll get to that later on.

IMG_1568

Mom’s Chocolate chip muffin recipe:

300g of self raising flour, 1 teaspoon of baking powder,  4 Tablespoons of cocoa(we normally use a light hot chocolate, the weight watchers one is amazing, we used it one time as we were out of cocoa and never looked back) 200g of caster sugar, 100g of chocolate chips (in my house these are usually doubled, defo chocoholics here!) 220ml of sunflower oil (I usually am skeptical about using oil in cakey recipes as I prefer to use butter but this totally works) 2 eggs, 220ml milk. Bake at 200˚ for

IMG_1566

Now me being me and not following the recipe exactly, as always I threw in the dry ingredients first and stirred them about, oh and I always put a pinch of salt (the good kind, it’s impossible to get fleur de del in Ireland so I use Maldon) then i add the wet ingredients leaving the milk as the last (no particular reason, I just kinda always feel like it’s right!)

IMG_1570

 

Now for the trickier part!

The topping:

1 and 3/4 cups sugar, 3 large egg whites, 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract,

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Now this part needs to be beaten for aaaaaaaages!! Literally! I used a mixer for this.

Combine the sugar, 1/4 cup water, egg whites, and cream of tartar in a heat proof bowl.  Beat on high speed until foamy, approx a minute.  Set bowl over a pan of  simmering water and beat on high speed until frosting forms stiff peaks, after 12 minutes, Remove from heat then stir in vanilla and almond extracts, and beat for 2 minutes more until frosting thickens. Now I actually left it beat for ages in the mixer until really thick.

When the mixture is thick and the muffins are cool enough, use a piping bag to pipe the icing on the muffins.

Et voila Hi Hat cupcakes! (there is actually meant to be a layer of chocolate on them but I didn’t wana take the risk! Thy just looked so pretty! 😀

 

IMG_1579 IMG_1578

 

 

IMG_1576 IMG_1577

I put them in the fridge until serving time!

IMG_1580

2 thoughts on “This one time I made Martha Stewart’s Hi-Hat Cupcakes

  1. Wow these look wonderful, where are you based and do you cater? My mother is turning 90 in a few weeks and I’d love some baked goods at the party.

Leave a Reply

