Gingerbread Cupcakes

1481130_10152133765252359_656029487_n

Gingerbread Cupcakes

I have wanted to make gingerbread cupcakes for so long and I finally did it! And they were awesome! At first I thought it’d be just me who loved them but everyone who tasted them were all like OHMY GOD!! I was originally going to make the gingerbread toppers but my local shop sells the one I used and they are really tasty and the perfect size so I went with them instead. As I was making the cake batter and frosting I kept tasting until I got my desired flavor, I didn’t stick to the recipe really but here’s the basic.

Ingredients

140g margarine

200g caster sugar

60g treacle

60g golden syrup

2 large eggs

2 large egg yolks

310g flour

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1tsp nutmeg

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

240ml hot milk

Method 

Preheat the oven 190ª and prepare the muffin cases in the tin.

Mix the margarine and sugar, then add the treacle, golden syrup, eggs and egg yolks and mix thoroughly until combined fully.

Sieve the flour, cocoa, spices, baking powder and salt and add to the other mixture slowly using milk and dry mix one after the other.

Pop your mixture into the cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 20 minutes until springy and a toothpick comes out clean.

Allow to cool before frosting.

Frosting Ingredients

600g icing sugar

100g unsalted butter

250g cream cheese

grated lemon zest

gingerbread biscuits to top

spices to sprinkle on top

Method

Mix the icing sugar and butter and cream cheese on a high speed for 5-10 minutes until creamy and fluffy.

Stir in the lemon zest.

Fill a piping bag and pipe onto each cupcake, sprinkle lemon zest and spices on top and finish with a little gingerbread man.

1527925_10152129697107359_2108735650_n

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

