The fancy banana & pomegranate loaf

This is one of my favourite non chocolate recipes! And this is the best cream cheese frosting!! I’ve posted this before I l know but this time it looks fancy! I baked it in a wider dish and when it was cooled, I trimmed the edges!

Ingredients: 2 ripe bananas, 1 medium egg, 170g of brown sugar, 80ml of sunflower oil, 80ml of milk, 170g of plain flour, 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda, 75g of pomegranate seeds.

This is the part I hate- removing the seeds! I always try to get the seeds that are already loose in Tesco. It saves so much time and energy.

Method: Preheat oven to 160˚, grease the tin or line it with parchment or a liner (oh use a brown bread tin), peel and mash the banana, whisk the egg and sugar together, blend the oil and milk then add banana, sift flour and bicarbonate of soda, fold in the seeds (keep some for decoration later), then bake for 70 minutes. Leave it Stand when done for 10 minutes on a wire rack. When it has cooled down I normally put it in the fridge whilst I make the topping.

Topping: 50g of icing sugar, 60g of unsalted butter, 150g of Philadelphia (I have used the Tesco brand and the lighter options in the past but from experience the normal Philadelphia works best here) 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, Seeds to Decorate.

Whisk together the butter and icing sugar, add cream cheese 1 spoon at a time (using your best judgement- if you feel its too wet stop adding), next the vanilla.

Now my recipe says to spread the topping but I like to pipe it with a large nozzle, so it turns out to be a sort of wonderful organized mess!

Then refrigerate for 1 hour!

2015/01/img_0113.png

2015/01/img_0119.png

2015/01/img_0116.png

2015/01/img_0118.png

2015/01/img_0117.png

2015/01/img_0115.png

2015/01/img_0114.png

Leave a Reply

