Pistachio Macarons

I’m a huge fan of Macarons, my favourite flavours are salted caramel, pistachio, coconut and lemon. So I’m on a mission to complete them all.

When I was in Paris sat year I set aside half a day to visit Laduree and it was well worth it! I queued up for ages just for a look inside! It was well worth it though! I took loads of photos and bought the freshest Macarons I’d had yet! Baked just that morning!

Since that trip I’ve made 2 previous batches of Macarons. The first was a complete disaster and I threw them out. The second time they turned out okay, just fine but I still wasn’t happy so I took a break! Until now!

My new obsession here in Christchurch is ILLY coffee and their salted caramel Macarons! I’ve been spending too much on them lately so when my Avon catalogue had a macaron mat I bought one to make my own!

So this is my third attempt and third recipe! I changed it a bit and would definitely change the cooking time on these too as some were over done.

Delighted with how they’ve turned out.

Tips: 

Sieve the sugars and ground nuts twice.

Try to buy shell-less pistachios- it was a nightmare trying to decide how much to get in the shells and de shelling them was not fun!

Use room temperature eggs.

Here’s my recipe;

Ingredients

2/3 cup icing sugar

1/2 cup of ground almonds

1/2 cup pistachios (ground)

2 egg whites

2/3 cup caster sugar

Green colour paste

The buttercream filling

50g butter

1/4- 1/2 cup of icing sugar

1/2 cup pistachios (ground)

Green colour paste

Method

Sieve the icing sugar, almonds and pistachios into a bowl.

To this add 1 egg white and a touch of green colour paste ( I dip a toothpick or the end of a small spoon into the paste and add that amount).

Mix by hand (well with a spatula) to make a sort of paste/ dough.

Set aside.

Put the next egg white into a glass/ heat proof bowl.

Set aside for a moment but have your electric mixer ready to go.

In a saucepan  add your sugar and 50-60ml of water. Pop on the ring and stir until you have a clear syrup.

Start beating the egg until it becomes a white foam.

Pour the syrup slowly into the eggs whilst still beating them.

Keep beating until the bowl cools down.

Then gently fold the ingredients you set aside into the white meringuey mix.

Keep folding until it’s all incorporated.

It should be a fairly thick batter.

Pop it into an icing bag with a round tip and pipe onto macaron mat (just enough to fill the inner circle). If it does not spread all the way out to your bigger circle just add a tiny bit more batter.

Leave them in a cool dry place on the mat for 30+ minutes enforce cooking. I made the dinner and watched a 20 minute to show.

Cook for 7-14 minutes at 180 degrees in a preheated oven. After 5 minutes check themed again at 7 minutes, my first batch at 14 minutes were too done but the next at 7 were very slightly under done.

Take them out of the oven and leave on a cool surface for about 20 minutes. Then gently peel them off one at a time. Leave to cool further whilst making the butter cream.

The butter cream filling 

This recipe will only fill a few of your Macarons but I’ve left some of mine in the cupboard and I can whip more of this up when I need to.

Beat the butter until pale, then sieve in pistachios and the icing sugar a little at a time, taste after you’ve added half of the icing sugar. You’ll know if you want to add more. Add a touch of green paste and scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat until fully mixed!

Add a little to half of each macaron and sandwich together.

Enjoy 🙌

Leave a Reply

