The salted caramel macarons 

  
I think you all know my love for macarons based on my previous macaron post! The caramel used in these is my Brown sugar salted caramel, link here https://makebakesnapeat.wordpress.com/2015/06/03/brown-sugar-salted-caramel/

   
 I made the macarons  first and the caramel whilst they were resting and cooking! 

The one thing I didn’t do was add cocoa or chocolate or brown colouring to give them that brown colour. I wanted to master them before attempting that! 

The recipe I based them on said to cook for like 30 minutes which is far too long and lucky I knew that from my pistachio batch a few weeks ago as 30 minutes would’ve ruined them completely.

I cooked mine for 8 Minutes. As my oven is slightly off, half were perfect and the other half were a tiny bit underdone. But no major issues thankfully.

   

   Ingredients 

1.5 egg whites (room temp is best)

1/8 cup of sugar

1 cup icing sugar

1/2 cup ground almonds

Sprinkle of salt.
Method

Sieve the icing sugar 2-3 times and discard lumps.

Repeat this step with the almond flour.

In a separate bowl whisk eggs until foamy then add sugar and salt (slowly).

Keep beating until they form an uncooked meringue like consistency.

Fold the dry mixture into the egg and sugar mixture until combined but still light and airy and meringue like.

Pop into a piping bag carefully and pipe onto either a macaron mat or parchment paper. If using the paper get a good quality one and draw circles underneath on a separate page or piece of parchment. Do not fill the circles- allow them to melt out to their border. 

Let them sit for 30+ minutes.

I banged my tray a little before setting them aside to ensure there was no air pockets stuck inside them.

Bake at 150-170 degrees for 7-9 minutes. Check at 5 minutes and possibly turn around in oven.

When cooked leave on tray and do not touch them for at least 20 minutes.

Then peel off carefully and pop into a board or plate to prep for filling.

Enjoy💜😍

Leave a Reply

