Raspberry scones 

   
   On cold frosty mornings That I have to go to work (I cycle btw) I like to buy myself a coffee at Robert Harris. One particular Saturday morning I chose to sleep in a little longer and skip breakfast, when I arrived for my coffee I was a little hungry so I bought a scone to have at work. It wasn’t the greatest scone, it was kinda floury and powdery so I was disappointed. Around the same time Donal Skehan’s raspberry scones were popping up everywhere on Facebook which reminded me of my amazing coconut raspberry scones! I had to make them! Breakfast or lunch for almost a week! Sorted! On this occasion I was too lazy to toast my shredded coconut so just left it out! I put lots of raspberries as I love them! I usually eat them toasted with butter but I really want to try a bit of creme fraiche with a raspberry jam! I’ll do it eventually! Here’s the recipe;
Makes approx 9 scones
1 cup self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

60g butter

1/5 cup of caster sugar

2 eggs

100ml milk

Large handful of frozen raspberries 
Heat the oven to 180°C-200°C and prep a baking mat with flour. 
Mix the flour and baking powder with your fingers, then add butter until it looks like breadcrumbs. Pop in the sugar and combine.
In a cup or small bowl, whisk the milk and egg together. Add to dry ingredients and combine until a dough forms. 
Pop in the raspberries to the dough. Knead a little until it all comes together.
Roll the dough onto a clean floured surface to a thickness of your choice.
With a cookie cutter or any round object cut out your scones. Pop each one onto the baking tray our mat. Use the leftover dough for more scones or a large wonky kinda scone like I did! 
Put a little milk into a small cup or ramekin and place just under a teaspoon of milk on top of each scone to coat. 
Bake for 10 minutes and then turn them around and bake for a further 5 minutes. Keep an eye on them for the final 5 minutes.
Enjoy 👌🏻🙌🏻

Leave a Reply

