Lemon Raspberry Pinwheels

I’ve never been a huge sweet puff pastry fan. I do love tart pastry for the likes of apple tart and quiche but never sweet puff pastry! I love the smell of freshly baked pastries and I’ve tried so many croissants and pain au chocolats and I’ve never once thought wow I loved that, even in Paris! So I came across a recipe to make my own puff pastry treats and I said I’d give it a go! 

I loved the filling and I have to say did like and enjoy the pastry right out of the oven BUT I had more fun making them and prepping the filling than I did eating them! And the next day the leftover one wasn’t great! 

So my tip here is basically eat them right away or wait until you’ve got the time to enjoy them out of the oven! 

As there are only 2 people in my house I just made 2. I bought a roll of ready to cook pastry with 2 square sheets. You need 1/2 a sheet for 2 pinwheels. I cut each sheet into 2 halves, kept 1 to use and froze the other 3. Obviously if you want to make more use more pastry!

If you have too much lemony cream cheese, it’ll keep in the fridge for a few days! 

I think what I’ve taken from this is the cream cheese filling! It may be put on a cake or cupcakes soon! Maybe carrot cake! 🙊😍

   
   

Ingredients

Roll of puff pastry

1/4 pack Philadelphia cream cheese

2.5 tbsp of caster sugar

Juice of 1/2 a small lemon

Zest of 1 small lemon

3 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 tbsps raspberry jam

Handful of frozen raspberries (1/4 cup approx)

1 egg (whisked with a drop of water)

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius.

Cut 2 squares out of your pastry. 

Roll each to make slightly larger, you’d want each square side to be about 2-3 inches in length.

Set aside.

Mix cream cheese, sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and vanilla.

Pop pastry squares onto a baking mat or cookie tray. 

Poke watch square with a toothpick.

Onto each square pop approx 1 tbsp of lemony cream cheese. Pat into a circle and add 1 tbsp of jam on top of each one. Then add the raspberries on top of the jam. 

Next is the fun part! Cut a line from the corner of each square to the filling boundary. So 4 on each pastry square! Then fold each part into the centre of the square. You can press on the centre with a fork or knife to get all pieces to stick. Do this gently!

Then brush all the exposed pastry with egg wash.

Bake at 180 degrees celcius for about 15 minutes. 

Allow to cool slightly and then enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

