Vanilla Rose Cupcakes

IMG_4339

Vanilla Rose Cupcakes

It was the frosting on these that I was mad to do. I saw it on either Instagram or on Pinterest! When an opportunity arose to make them I went for it. I decided to make my usual vanilla cupcake batter and then I’d have plenty of time to concentrate on the frosting. What could go wrong? Absolutely nothing, sure hadn’t I made those vanilla cupcakes 10 million times before? Well when you make 1 little teeny change all your cupcakes can turn out like vol-au-vonts. Disaster Central! Normally I use either butter or margarine in my batter but this time for whatever strange reason I was out of both but I had a Dairygold baking block so I said I’d throw it in instead! Worst decision of my baking life! I should have gone to the shop to get the usual butter or margarine! Anyways, at least the frosting turned out presentable.

IMG_4335

Ingredients

2 +3/4 cups of flour

1/2 cup of self raising flour

1 tbsp baking powder

pinch of salt

8 oz margarine

2 + 1/4 cups of sugar

3 large eggs

1 cup of milk

1+1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

IMG_4341

Sieve the flours, baking powder, salt and sugar together, mix in the margarine, then add in the eggs1 at a time, beating well after each one, gradually add in the milk and beat until you have a thick batter.

Lastly add in the vanilla, I personally keep adding until I like how it tastes.

Then put about 2 tbsps of batter into each cupcake case- I use muffin tins and cases so that there is plenty of room for the bottom layer of frosting.

Bake at 180ª until they are golden, springy and a toothpick comes out clean.

When baked leave to cool completely until frosting them.

IMG_4344

Vanilla Frosting

Ingredients

500g icing sugar

160g unsalted butter

50ml cream

1tsp vanilla extract

Blend icing sugar and butter until combined, then add the cream slowly (make sure it’s not too wet) and lastly the vanilla.

Beat for 5-10 minutes until light and fluffy but firm enough that it will stay on your cupcake!

Get the icing bag and fit your nozzle, then like the photo apply stripes of gel colour in a few places and then carefully add your white frosting into the bag.

Pipe onto cupcakes like roses!

Leave a comment